

News Release



June 13, 2016

Council names Airport Authority members

At its May 24, 2016 meeting, City Council appointed two members to Campbell River's Airport Authority commission to replace those whose term has expired.

Council endorsed the Campbell River Airport Authority's recommendation to appoint Jason Zimmerman and Ed Wilcock for terms ending Dec. 31, 2018

Jason Zimmerman is a new commission member, and Ed Wilcock is returning to the commission after a six-month break following a previous three-year term.

"City Council and the Airport Authority sincerely thank outgoing board members Jeanette Ferguson and Al Baronas for their contributions during their three-year term," says Ross Sharp, chair of the Airport Authority. "We would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the exceptional members we've had on this board in the past, and to note that the outstanding calibre of applicants continues to make selection of members very challenging – in a good way."

In December 2010, Council created the Airport Authority, with three of the nine appointments timed to end each year to ensure continuity. Advertisements to recruit local or regional volunteer members were placed in the local papers and on the City's website and Facebook page.

The Airport Authority, through a selection committee, reviewed applications and recommended the appointments based on candidate skills, knowledge and experience in the aviation industry, economic development, policy governance, governmental finance or operations.

The Campbell River Airport Authority is delegated by City Council to manage and operate the Campbell River Airport (YBL) on behalf of the City of Campbell River. The Commission is responsible for setting the Airport's strategic direction and for overseeing the management of the Airport's business and affairs.

###

Contact: Ross Sharp, Airport Authority Chair 780-720-3245

